Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: New to lightroom finding folders  (Read 1310 times)

shaun

New to lightroom finding folders
« on: January 01, 2012, 08:34:06 am »

Hi
Hi

I am new to lightroom. I normally use C1 and when I work on a series of images I drag the folder to a seperate hard drive when finished that way I can always access the images easily. I have been doing the same with lightroom and assumed that if I select "find" I would be brought to the folder. This doesn't seem to be the case and I am spending a lot of time trying to find shots.

Is there a workflow that I should use to allow me to continue to drag my folders to hard drives when they are complete?

Also the folders that I have now worked on and deleted from the desktop can these be found again?

Hope someone can help.

Thanks
Shaun

john beardsworth

• My photography site
Re: New to lightroom finding folders
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2012, 09:56:09 am »

Remember Lightroom is a cataloguing program, a database, so first the existence of other drive needs to be recorded in the catalogue. In Lightroom's Folders panel, click the + button and choose Add Folder. Then point to a folder on that other drive. You will now be able to drag folders into it.

John

shaun

« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2012, 01:38:07 pm »

Thanks

Sounds simple when you know.

Shaun

Steve House

« Reply #3 on: January 01, 2012, 02:57:16 pm »