Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: iPF 6300  (Read 2889 times)

KatManDEW

iPF 6300
« on: December 11, 2011, 11:12:46 pm »

Hello. I'm a new user on this forum.

I have a iPF 6300 on the way. It's my first large format printer. I've been using a Canon i9900 for several years and I've had very good luck with it.

What paper would you recommend for a first time iPF 6300 user like me? I think gloss or semi-gloss would be my preference for now.

Where is the best place to get ink?

I've read that it's not possible to print borderless on single sheets. Is this true? I'm not interested in small snapshot prints, so that's not a problem. Should I just get rolls in the widths that I am interested in?

Many thanks in advance for any tips or suggestions.

neile

• http://www.danecreekfolios.com
Re: iPF 6300
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2011, 11:26:40 pm »

Congrats on the new printer!

You'll get lots of opinions on paper to try. I'll suggest Ilford Galerie Gold Fibre Silk. Nice stuff.

Ink price is the same pretty much everywhere. Suppliers that are recommended/used by folks here include www.atlex.com, www.itsupplies.com, and www.shadesofpaper.com (call them for pricing, don't go by the website). For ink I often wind up ordering from Amazon.com because I have Amazon Prime so 2-day shipping is free. Any of the three places mentioned above are also good sources for paper.

Correct, you can't print borderless on cut sheets.

Neil
Neil Enns
Dane Creek Folio Covers. Limited edition Tuscan Sun and Citron covers are now in stock!

Jim Pascoe

• http://www.jimpascoe.co.uk
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2011, 10:50:58 am »

Regarding ink.  I was just told today by a dealer here in the UK that a lot of counterfeit ink is being sold masquerading as genuine Canon ink.  It could be a bit of scaremongering, but worth considering if you are searching the internet for the cheapest price.  Probably best to stick to reputable suppliers.

Jim

mstevensphoto

• Denver Commercial Photographer