Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: ISO metadata and ETTR  (Read 4204 times)

lowep

• http://sites.google.com/site/peterlowefoto/
ISO metadata and ETTR
« on: December 05, 2011, 02:13:51 am »

Guillermo writes here:

"ETTR based on the histogram in a camera where ISO is pure metadata, is a guarantee to be underexposing by at least as many stops as the difference between camera's base ISO and the ISO set by the user. In other words, a ruin."

I am no expert but attempts to ETTR with my MFDB leads me to see merit in this conclusion. Do others have similar experiences?

Is it only in a few older MFDB's and other digital cameras that the ISO is pure metadata?
« Last Edit: December 05, 2011, 02:17:27 am by lowep »

ondebanks

Re: ISO metadata and ETTR
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2011, 09:10:35 am »

Pure metadata ISO the only sensible way to implement different ISO settings in a camera which cannot employ analog gain to reduce overall readout noise. As far as I can tell, all high-end cameras/backs with CCD sensors fall into this category.

I have two older CCD-based units (Kodak DCS645M MFDB, and Kodak DCS720x DSLR) where the readout noise I measured matches the "floor" in the sensor datasheets, and so nothing is to be gained in S/N terms from higher ISO settings. I have confirmed that they use ISO as a metadata flag only. But this is not a bad thing. I use higher ISOs on these cameras when I need faster shutter speeds and/or smaller apertures, in the full knowledge that I am simply underexposing, as if using negative exposure compensation; but on the plus side, increasing ISO maintains the brightness of what I see on the LCD (whereas negative exposure compensation does not), and I still know that I am retaining all of the DR that would be available at base ISO, and in fact gaining as many more stops of DR at the highlight end as the number of stops that I am underexposing by and losing at the shadow end.