Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Moving to Lightroom 3 from CS5, I have a couple of questions?  (Read 1574 times)

Bill Koenig

Moving to Lightroom 3 from CS5, I have a couple of questions?
« on: November 28, 2011, 05:18:05 pm »

I'm about to make the move to LightRoom 3 and I have a few questions.
Just to let you know, I'm not a working pro, just a serious amateur. In the 5 years with my DSLR I have about 1 TB of data, all backed up to multiple drives both on site /off site. At this point I'm not going to import any of this into LR, but from this point on, plan to save all of my future work in LR.

I use Second Copy 8 to back up all of my data from my internal data drive to my external drive, that external drive gets backed up to another that I keep in my desk. Now that drive is rotated off site with yet another drive weekly.
This method backs up everything to 4 different drives minis the weekly rotation.

First question, with the lightroom catalog file, I've read that all files in a catalog must now be moved within LR, this isn't going to work with Second Copy 8
Is there a way I can make LR work with my currant backup strategy?

I work with raw files exclusively, at what point in the LR work flow does the raw file get converted/processed? I assume that a raw file saved in the catalog is still just the raw file with the editing saved as a metadata tag that rides with the file in the catalog. 
There is also a cache file created as well, I assume that rides within the catalog as well, but I see that the cache can be saved in another location to increase performance, so how does LR know where the cache is if I move it to a different partition, and how do I back all of this up?
Thanks for any help, 

Bill Koenig,

john beardsworth

• My photography site
Re: Moving to Lightroom 3 from CS5, I have a couple of questions?
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2011, 05:32:16 pm »

Bill