Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: QUESTION!!! Choosing MFDB between P21+ & Aptus 22  (Read 6237 times)

mjkim

QUESTION!!! Choosing MFDB between P21+ & Aptus 22
« on: October 27, 2011, 11:44:29 am »

Hello there
I am a professional shooter but total beginner for MFDB.
As I have Mamiya RZ Pro II D system, I decide try out with digital back.
I am going to shoot mainly shoot portraiture with it and please can someone suggest ups and downs of those 2 backs?
My main concern is is it worth buying one of the back as both backs are quite old?!

I would very much appreciate your help.

Best

MJ

gss

Re: QUESTION!!! Choosing MFDB between P21+ & Aptus 22
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2011, 12:21:32 pm »

I have a Leaf Aptus 22.  I think it's a great back which renders skin very nicely, certainly worth getting.
One difference between the PhaseOne P21+ and the Leaf Aptus 22 is that the Leaf's battery covers the firewire port, so there is no way to use battery power when tethering.  If the firewire doesn't supply sufficient power you have to use a powered firewire repeater to boost it.  This becomes a real problem when tethering on location.  The PhaseOne backs, on the other hand, allow one to use the battery when tethering.
« Last Edit: October 27, 2011, 12:24:05 pm by gss »

mjkim

« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2011, 01:59:49 pm »

Thank you!
So apart from the location of fire wire port, you are happy with the quality of images and handling?
Best

treyclark

« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2011, 02:33:58 pm »

I had the Aptus 22/54s on a Hasselblad H2. Great skin tones, but the moire on men's suits was a pita.

paul_jones

• http://www.paulrossjones.com
« Reply #4 on: October 27, 2011, 05:10:39 pm »

i think the extra crop that the p21 does would drive you mad. the a22 will still be a big crop, but nearly as much.