Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Movement in Slideshows  (Read 2997 times)

kpdesigns492

Movement in Slideshows
« on: September 29, 2011, 01:33:01 pm »

I've been using FotoMagico for several months now and have discovered that when using the Ken Burns effect on slides being shown on my HDTV, the slides actually look a little better unsharpened. Images that are sharpened tend to flicker quite a bit on my tv. Has anyone else noticed this? Should I just not sharpen images for my HDTV slideshows?

Thanks!

ErikKaffehr

• Echophoto
Re: Movement in Slideshows
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2011, 01:46:44 pm »

Hi,

What you see is aliasing. Softening the image reduces aliasing.

You could consider to shut down the Ken Burns effekt and zoom/pan the images that you really want to zoom or pan.

Blurring the image would be a good idea, like adding gaussian blur with radius 0.15 or so.

Best regards
Erik

I've been using FotoMagico for several months now and have discovered that when using the Ken Burns effect on slides being shown on my HDTV, the slides actually look a little better unsharpened. Images that are sharpened tend to flicker quite a bit on my tv. Has anyone else noticed this? Should I just not sharpen images for my HDTV slideshows?

Thanks!
« Last Edit: September 29, 2011, 01:48:46 pm by ErikKaffehr »
Erik Kaffehr

kpdesigns492

« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2011, 01:52:03 pm »

It seems like just shutting off the Sharpening in Lightroom for my Raw images sort of blurs the images enough.  What do you think?

ErikKaffehr

• Echophoto
« Reply #3 on: September 29, 2011, 03:27:29 pm »

Hi,

Quite possible. I would prefer to have a decent level and sharpening in Lightroom and havin scaling algorithms that work correctly in Fotomagico. In my view the problem is with Fotomagico that doesn´t use a decent resampling algorithm, although I have to admit that a decent resize algorithm may need to much CPU-power.

Best regards
Erik