Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: The Question 645D vs H4d-40  (Read 15843 times)

markymarkrb

The Question 645D vs H4d-40
« on: September 13, 2011, 09:55:33 am »

I am considering buying a medium format digital camera and really can't come up with a solution.  I am primarily a landscape photographer.  Here are my options:

CPO H3DII-50 with 80mm $18,000
CPO H4D-40 with 80mm $16,000
Pentax 645D with 55mm $11,250

I like that the 645D is weather sealed and the cheapest of them all with the same sensor as the 40.  I do however, yearn for a future trade in opportunity that Hasselblad is so good at doing but is that worth $4,750?  I don't know.  I have used a h4d-40 before and it is a pretty impressive camera but I am wondering if it has been equally matched by the pentax in photo quality.  Does anyone have any sound non-biased advice?

Thanks,
Mark

design_freak

Re: The Question 645D vs H4d-40
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2011, 10:42:37 am »

Well, advice will be very difficult. Hasselblad is a really good equipment, the peer for modifications to the firmware, H3DII50 gained much of the functionality. (Exposure time). H4D40 it is a really good piece of equipment, in my opinion the best in its class - would not venture to claim that the best camera produced by this brand so far. But since 40 million pixels is enough for you, you should consider a P45 + (bigger sensor, exposure time to 1 h) Do not rush the decision, test equipment in exactly the conditions corresponding to your operating mode. Good luck  8)
Best regards,
DF

Doug Peterson

• http://www.doug-peterson.com
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2011, 11:51:15 am »

I can't promise unbiased advice (mine is in my signature). Instead I'll just let you know you'll get much better advice if you clearly lay out for the forum more information:
- what sort of photography you do today
- what volume of shooting do you do
- what elements of cameras you have owned have been important to you