Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Help needed, choosing printer for my business !  (Read 7764 times)

george clooney

Help needed, choosing printer for my business !
« on: September 04, 2011, 10:59:34 am »

Hello all,

this is my first time so be gentle !

My partner and I are a young couple setting up a kids photography business in Australia we have been working for someone else for a number of years but are deciding to do it ourselves now. We need a printer that is going to turnover a large number of prints a week roughly 1560 10x8 prints, 240 14x11 prints and 120 6x4 prints. Due to this high volume of work the most important factors for us are a) its running costs are low b) its print speed is fast c) either its built to withstand the amount of work or its cheap enough to replace over time. Print quality is important to a certain extent but our customers will not be inspecting each print with a magnifying glass ! ease of use is also important.

We are starting off small so we obviously dont want to be spending 10's of thousands on a top of the range machine just yet. A suggestion was made to us to start off with say 3 or more cheaper printers which print borderless printing to slash printing time and save on labour time and costs for cutting, good idea ?.

Anyway I have been looking at a range of models and ill use the epson range as an example - starting at the cheaper r2880 up to the 3880 and then the pricier 4900. Im open to suggestions for any other brand by the way.

So any suggestions ? which printer best suits my needs Epson, Canon, HP ? do I keep costs low to start and go for the cheaper models, i could afford a few of them and they would fit nicely in my office space. Or would i actually make my money back quite quickly on ink if I invested in a printer such as the 4900 ? could i churn out the same volume of work in equal time with just 1 or 2 of these larger printers compared to say 3 or more cheaper models, are they generally faster ?