Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Shooting Radio Control Planes with JVC GY-HM100  (Read 1607 times)

Bob Raymount

Shooting Radio Control Planes with JVC GY-HM100
« on: August 16, 2011, 12:08:35 am »

Hello all,

I am very new to video (quite a bit of experience with still photography) and have just purchased a JVC GY-HM100. I have been a reader of these forums for a number of years.

Being a member of a radio control model flying club I have been asked to shoot some video of an event that is coming up in a few weeks time. Much to my horror I said yes.

I shot some trial footage on the JVC on the weekend but had the camera on full auto. As a result when the planes were in the air the camera exposed for the sky resulting in a silhouetted plane which wasn't very satisfactory. My question is if I set the camera to manual how do I meter to expose the planes correctly given that some time they are in the sky against a bright background and sometimes they are doing low passes against trees and green grass? Bear in mind that these things move very quickly so there is very little time to make too many adjustments on the fly.

Any help anybody can give me would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance four your time and all the best.

Bob

Morgan_Moore

• sammorganmoore.com
Re: Shooting Radio Control Planes with JVC GY-HM100
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2011, 01:08:05 am »

what is behind the plane will make no difference to the exposure the plane needs

expose for the plane - shoot
Sam Morgan Moore Bristol UK

Sareesh Sudhakaran

• The Indie Farm
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2011, 11:00:00 am »

My question is if I set the camera to manual how do I meter to expose the planes correctly given that some time they are in the sky against a bright background and sometimes they are doing low passes against trees and green grass? Bear in mind that these things move very quickly so there is very little time to make too many adjustments on the fly.