Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Trying to get to grips with Lightroom some basic questions please.  (Read 4609 times)

sanfairyanne

I'm just beginning to use Lightroom version 3 and as many of my images are HDR's I haven't really used Lightroom for any editing work. I simply export the Lightroom thumbnails into a folder on the desktop then open and process them in my HDR software and do final edits in CS5.

My question is, where should I store the final processed images. Currently I have them in a new folder in the Lightoom folder within my Pictures folder on the desktop.

I just wondered if I'm making a big mistake. I have Scott Kelby's book Lightroom 3 but although he talks about HDR he explains its use from Lightroom directly to Photoshop whereas I'm working within Photomatrix.

Essentially I'm just wondering if by saving them in PICTURES I'm doing the right thing.

Many thanks

eliedinur

Re: Trying to get to grips with Lightroom some basic questions please.
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2011, 06:35:11 pm »

You can store them anywhere you want; in the LR folder or in any other folder. On the internal drive or on an external. If your internal is partitioned they can be on either side. My photo files for the current year (and the LR catalog and previews) are on the D partition because I reserve the C partition for system functions. Photos and the catalog are also backed up to two identical externals. Photo files from previous years are on the externals. As long as they have been imported into the catalog (using the "Add" function) LR will find them when they are needed.
« Last Edit: July 24, 2011, 06:37:05 pm by elied »
Roll over Ed Weston,
Tell Ansel Adams th

Schewe

• http:www.schewephoto.com
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2011, 09:24:03 pm »

My question is, where should I store the final processed images. Currently I have them in a new folder in the Lightoom folder within my Pictures folder on the desktop.