Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Color Meters: Minolta CMII Vs. Current Models  (Read 7302 times)

michaelnotar

Color Meters: Minolta CMII Vs. Current Models
« on: July 15, 2011, 08:23:30 pm »

What exactly am I to gain if I upgrade from my Minolta Color Meter II (circa 1980 i think) to a modern meter? Considering the Sekonic 500 Color Meter for $1200. They seem to use the same interface, it spits out a number that you check against a chart for a CC filter or lighting gel. Modern models give out lens filters on screen without needing to check a chart, but while I find that useful, its not what I would be using. I check one light source against another, usually continuous lights, but strobe would be an added bonus too. I am a photographer mainly, but also have been doing a good amount of video work as a DP/Gaffer. Would a modern meter allow me to work faster or anything. Thanks

Ellis Vener

• http://www.ellisvener.com
Re: Color Meters: Minolta CMII Vs. Current Models
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2011, 09:14:16 pm »

The problem wit the CMII is that it is a two color meter while a CMIII or the new (ish) Sekonic are three color meters and are more precise. Also the new ones do a better job of reading flash than the CMII. I have owned bot the CMII and the CMIII and had both long enough hot do some a/B testing.
« Last Edit: July 19, 2011, 12:40:02 pm by Ellis Vener »

michaelnotar

« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2011, 12:02:26 am »

politely that is not correct, the CMII reads 3 colors. the newest sekonic CM claims 4 (RRGB), one ea red for digital or film color balance. it wouldnt suprise me if modern meter were better than the old one in any case of how the work.

01af

Re: Color Meters: Minolta CM II vs. Current Models
« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2011, 06:01:46 am »