Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Adhesive for canvas on shelfboard  (Read 1441 times)

SG

Adhesive for canvas on shelfboard
« on: July 06, 2011, 05:11:17 pm »

Hi,
I need to stick a sheet of synthetic canvas on a shelfboard (melamine). The surface of it is rather slippery, a bit more slippery than MDF board.
The prints are made on Mimaki JV4-160 (waterbased ink).
What glue would be the best option? I've read some post about 15% watered down Elmers that works well with MDF, but I'm not quite sure about shelfboard.
I also have 3M Super 77 spray adhesive but I've never used anything like that before. Is it ok for my case?

My concern is possible interaction of glue with inks which of course isn't desirable.

Any suggestions?

Thanks.

dgberg

• http://bergsprintstudio.com http://bergscustomfurniture.com
Re: Adhesive for canvas on shelfboard
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2011, 05:54:28 pm »

Hi,
I need to stick a sheet of synthetic canvas on a shelfboard (melamine). The surface of it is rather slippery, a bit more slippery than MDF board.
The prints are made on Mimaki JV4-160 (waterbased ink).
What glue would be the best option? I've read some post about 15% watered down Elmers that works well with MDF, but I'm not quite sure about shelfboard.
I also have 3M Super 77 spray adhesive but I've never used anything like that before. Is it ok for my case?

My concern is possible interaction of glue with inks which of course isn't desirable.

Any suggestions?

You could try miracle muck. Works great on gatorboard and is very affordable.
If you have a roll laminator then any of the mounting adhesives would work.

Thanks.

stretchdcanvas

« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2011, 08:35:06 pm »

Wow, another JV4 user!

If all you have is the spray go ahead and use it (preferably in an open area).  Follow the instructions on the can... it's pretty strong stuff.

If you have a laminator cut a piece of adhesive the size of the shelf and mount the canvas to the shelf.

Gotta love those JV4's :)