Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: Anyone making a living with landscapes?  (Read 25292 times)

biggiesnows

Anyone making a living with landscapes?
« on: June 18, 2011, 04:03:08 pm »

Hi-

Is there anyone on this forum making a living shooting landscapes? I've been a professional sports shooter for 15 years and have been shooting landscapes for the last few years out of personal interest. There is an endless amount of inspirational literature on the web and in print about making a living by following your passion but is anyone actually doing it anymore? I've heard that even Art Wolfe has quit the business and has become a painter. I'd like to learn more about the business if there is one.

Thanks in advance-Bill Stevenson www.theoutdoorpictureswebsite.com.

michael

Re: Anyone making a living with landscapes?
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2011, 05:49:02 pm »

Art paints, but he has definitely not left photography. He shoots, teaches, writes and publishes books and videos.

While there are a handful of photographers making a solid living from shooting landscapes, most also teach, lecture, run workshops and write for web sites and magazines.

Even those that don't are busy running their own galleries, which in itself is a full time job.

Any way you cut it, lots of hard work. Still, most wouldn't trade it for anything else.

Michael

ternst

« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2011, 05:59:35 pm »

I don't know anyone who gets paid to "shoot" landscapes. You make money selling the products produced from those photographs (which includes the teaching part). Business, accounting, writing, and SALES are the skills that make you money in this business. I've been a fulltime nature photographer for 36 years - the shooting part is a lot of fun, but mostly I've been a salesman...

Rob C

« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2011, 06:14:08 pm »

There might have been a time when such stock was viable... even then, it was bound to be at the shooter's risk.