Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Need help cleaning up image  (Read 1872 times)

ilsiu

Need help cleaning up image
« on: June 13, 2011, 09:24:49 am »

I'm working off a scan where the film was a little dinged up along the right edge. Here's a crop with contrast boosted to make the affected area easier to see (top right edge):

I'm using CS5 and tried clone stamp and healing brush, but haven't be able to smooth out the blemishes. Does anyone have any suggestions? 

Note - I'm a novice with CS5, so it's probable I'm not utilizing the tools to their full capability.

Thanks!

Mark D Segal

• Contributor
    • http://www.markdsegal.com
Re: Need help cleaning up image
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2011, 09:28:47 am »

Try Content Aware Fill, by targeting the area to be replaced. Photoshop should replace it seamlessly with suitably adapted material from the left of it.
Mark D Segal (formerly MarkDS)
Author: "Scanning Workflows with SilverFast 8....."

Peter McLennan

« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2011, 01:31:50 pm »

Exactly what I was going to say, Mark.  : )

If it doesn't work the first time, try several differing sizes, accuracies, shapes and featherings on your selection.  Content Aware Fill is an extraordinary addition to our tool set.

bill t.

• http://www.unit16.net
« Reply #3 on: June 13, 2011, 05:04:33 pm »

Here's Ye Olde Schoole Methode.

Make an empty layer above the image.

Set up the rubber stamp with a nicely sized circle with a feather edge, more or less the default.

Make sure "Aligned" and "Current & Below" are selected at the top of the screen.

Switch to the new layer.

Take a rubber stamp sample at the horizon line more or less between the vertical squiggles I drew.  Note how you see a sumperimposition, move the stamp tool up and down to match the horizons, like I almost did.