Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Signs of the Times  (Read 6793 times)

Rob C

Signs of the Times
« on: May 27, 2011, 09:40:26 am »

I bumped into a travel agent friend at lunch today; a résumé of our brief conversation:

"Hi Rob, was thinking about you the other day."
"Oh? Why's that?"
"Do you know Jim, who waitered here, and then in a few other places, a couple of years ago?"
"No, why?"
"Well, I saw him in the street and asked him where he was working these days; was he still doing tables? No, he said, I'm a photographer now. I work nine to one and then two to five for some estate agents... much better than the tables."

My friend put his hands to his face, smiled, and made a clicking motion...

No further comment needed from me.

Rob C

Kirk Gittings

• http://www.KirkGittings.com
Re: Signs of the Times
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2011, 10:08:50 am »

Hmmm......I think she was misinformed-I think he was likely pulling her chain. Two things strike me as fishy here. First, real estate agents pay PEANUTS-the worst in the industry for architectural photography (unless he is shooting mansions in one of the major markets, but there would be serious established competition there) and second in 95% of the the country the real estate market SUCKS. He may be TRYING to make a living as a "leisurely" real estate photographer, but as they say "you shouldn't give up your day job".

On the other side of the coin. A very fine waiter at my favorite local restaurant, used to talk to me about launching an AP career when I was in there for dinner. This discussion went on for a couple of years.........and he did it and is well established now-but that was before the recession.
« Last Edit: May 27, 2011, 11:41:39 am by Kirk Gittings »
Thanks,
Kirk Gittings

Rob C

« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2011, 03:40:25 pm »