Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Where did my blue go?  (Read 1760 times)

GeraldB

• Gerald Bloch Photography
Where did my blue go?
« on: May 16, 2011, 09:00:51 pm »

I'm puzzled. I'm pretty new to the printing game. Decided to try out 3 different Baryta papers.  I selected a picture that had a wide range of saturated colors. Printed it on 3 different papers each with their own vendor profile. All the colors came out very nicely except the blue which was desaturated big time. The same on all three papers. A nozzle check showed no blocked jets.

Here is what I did:

Windows 7 Pro 64 bit, LRM 3.4, CS5 12.03, Epson 7900.
Open in CS5 from LRM. Create duplicate, position side by side, turn on proofing on copy with correct profile with black point and paper simulation both relative and perceptual.
Found that there was almost no difference in the proof version except a little darker which I corrected by brightening a little.
Turned on gamut check, a few pixels out of gamut, hardly visible.
Save proof as tiff. Print from LRM. In the driver properties the mode is Custom (Off) No color adjustment.
All colors and luminosity good except Blue which is highly desaturated.

Any suggestions where I could be going wrong?

Mark D Segal

• Contributor
    • http://www.markdsegal.com
Re: Where did my blue go?
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2011, 09:05:40 pm »

I'm puzzled. I'm pretty new to the printing game. Decided to try out 3 different Baryta papers.  I selected a picture that had a wide range of saturated colors. Printed it on 3 different papers each with their own vendor profile. All the colors came out very nicely except the blue which was desaturated big time. The same on all three papers. A nozzle check showed no blocked jets.

Here is what I did:

Windows 7 Pro 64 bit, LRM 3.4, CS5 12.03, Epson 7900.
Open in CS5 from LRM. Create duplicate, position side by side, turn on proofing on copy with correct profile with black point and paper simulation both relative and perceptual.