Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: NTSC and PAL mixing problem ( Panasonic GH2)  (Read 3806 times)

Mark Regan

• http://
NTSC and PAL mixing problem ( Panasonic GH2)
« on: May 02, 2011, 02:31:35 pm »

Hello,
I have very little video knowledge (using iMovie and a EOS 60D until now).
A friend comes from Japan with his Panasonic GH2 recording in NTSC format.
I will use then a Panasonic GH2 european version in PAL.
Unfortunately we cannot match the video recording in-camera,as Pansonic does not allow the compatible settings.
-How can we match the output, to edit the videos in one film?
Can I mix NTSC and PAL, or do I have to convert? How? It seems problems occur with movements.
I am searching since a while on the web and the camera stores I asked are unable to give a solution.
Please can someone in the same situation or with experience help?
Thank you and greetings from Vienna!

hjulenissen

Re: NTSC and PAL mixing problem ( Panasonic GH2)
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2011, 03:02:08 pm »

NTSC is typically filmed using 30/60 frames/fields per second. PAL is 25/50. When mixing those two into one file (usually of a single framerate), I think that you have to convert one. Framerate-conversion is difficult.

-h

Sareesh Sudhakaran

• The Indie Farm
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2011, 12:13:20 am »

Hello,
A friend comes from Japan with his Panasonic GH2 recording in NTSC format.
I will use then a Panasonic GH2 european version in PAL.
Unfortunately we cannot match the video recording in-camera,as Pansonic does not allow the compatible settings.
-How can we match the output, to edit the videos in one film?

If you are shooting HD, then there is no PAL or NTSC, only different frame rates, and whether or not they are interlaced or progressive. Can you tell us exactly what frame rate you shot it in, and whether or not it was i or p? Was it 720 or 1080 HD, or was it really standard definition PAL and NTSC?