Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Should I get a Macbook Pro?...  (Read 1873 times)

donaldt

Should I get a Macbook Pro?...
« on: April 18, 2011, 11:50:09 pm »

Hi guys
here is the situation
I am an amateur photographer who knows few about computer, and I use a 50MP digital back
and my normal Intel i7 laptop, which I use at work, wont hold up anymore, it basically dies when processing the images

so I am starting from scratch here and options are,
-give up the laptop and get a 15" all juiced up Macbook Pro for both the image processing and work (costs about $2800?)
-keep my laptop for work, add a desktop + screen at home for image processing

lets say my budget is as much as the Macbook Pro costs
if I spend the same money on a desktop + screen, will I get better result? what kind of configs should I be looking at?
the thing is with the 15" Macbook Pro is that I might need a larger screen later on, and the Mac screen is like $1000
is there other screen choices that performs just like the Mac, or better, for less money?

what are the pros and cons with the Mac setup as oppose to the PC?

I know the thunderbolt is coming but it doesnt seem to me it will be popular in a year or two so I guess we can forget about that?

Thanks a lot
Donald

MarkoRepse

• www.markorepse.com
Re: Should I get a Macbook Pro?...
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2011, 09:56:22 am »

Donald,
I've been having the same questions as you recently. Here are my findings:
I went to the apple store recently and tested capture one on my 22MP files on the basic quad core 17" and 15" models. Performance was very good, slightly better on the 17" despite the higher display resolution due to OpenCL. You can of course get the same performance on the upgraded 15". I don't know if this is beneficial for other software.