Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Magenta-ish skies with Ilford Galerie Smooth Pearl (compared to Epson Semigloss)  (Read 8202 times)

pompon44

• photo.aphecetche.fr

Hi,

I've been playing a bit with my new Epson 3880 I received a few days ago (so please bear with me, I'm a newbie in the usage of a "real" photo printer, my previous one being a Canon IP4200)...

Before getting in the A3/A2 land, I'd want to settle on a couple of papers. So I started with a few A4 (sample or not) packs from Epson (for reference, as I assumed their profiles would be top quality), Ilford (because I like their Pearl paper) as well as Canson and Hahnemüle (for my first attempts in matte papers, but that will be for later on...)

I started with Epson Semigloss and was very pleased with the results. Next I tried the Ilford Galerie Smooth Pearl, and noticed a moderate (but still really visible) magenta cast in the (blue) skies.

I'd tend to conclude that the Ilford profile provided for the 3880 is not 100% optimized and that would explain the worst rendering of the blues, as compared to the Epson semigloss profile. Would that be a valid conclusion, or could a pilot error explain such an observation ?
 Do you guys observed such a thing as well, for those who've used both papers ?

Thanks, and sorry for the long question...
Laurent Aphecetche | http://photo.aphecetche.fr

Mark D Segal

• Contributor
    • http://www.markdsegal.com

It's possible that the Ilford profile isn't great, but before concluding on that, there could be what you call "pilot error". Each paper has its own tint, so my question is whether you readjusted your image under softproof in Photoshop with the Ilford profile loaded as the softproof condition?
Mark D Segal (formerly MarkDS)
Author: "Scanning Workflows with SilverFast 8....."

pompon44

• photo.aphecetche.fr

Hi Mark,

No, I did nothing to the image prior to print it (from Lightroom 3, btw), nor for the Epson semigloss, nor for the Ilford Smooth Pearl.