Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Stitching question  (Read 5565 times)

tsjanik

Stitching question
« on: March 28, 2011, 06:29:44 pm »

I have little experience with stitching and so far photo merge in PS has been fine.  I recently stitched 5 exposures taken with a Pentax 645 35mm lens.  The lens has some barrel distortion, which apparently manifests itself as a wavy horizon in a stitch.  Any cures for this?

Kirk Gittings

• http://www.KirkGittings.com
Re: Stitching question
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2011, 10:51:04 pm »

You can correct the barrel distortion before the stitch and eliminate some of this. I do this in LR3 first and then open the corrected files in PS5 for stitching. I think you could also do this with ACR.
Thanks,
Kirk Gittings

BernardLanguillier

• http://www.flickr.com/photos/bernardlanguillier/sets/
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2011, 11:07:08 pm »

Wasn't there an option in CS5 to correct for distortion?

Or you can try the try out version of Autopano Pro, my guess is that you will have no issues.

Regards,
Bernard

Bart_van_der_Wolf

« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2011, 03:43:59 am »

I have little experience with stitching and so far photo merge in PS has been fine.  I recently stitched 5 exposures taken with a Pentax 645 35mm lens.  The lens has some barrel distortion, which apparently manifests itself as a wavy horizon in a stitch.  Any cures for this?

Hi,

A wavy horizon is usually caused by a (slightly) non-plumb orientation of the vertical axis of horizontal rotation. IOW, the tripod was probably not level (although is can also be introduced by the software). Fortunately this is less of an issue if you use a dedicated panostitcher software which allows to adjust the vertical position of the virtual horizon in the stitch.