Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Im a designer on a MAC. Do I need a PC to run the rip software for my new Epson?  (Read 2563 times)

labunski

We are buying a new Apple G5 computer and a new Epson 9880 printer in my art department. The current Epson large format printer has been set up to run with the driver and rip software on a PC (networked to from my MAC).

Can I not just send files directly from my MAC? Do we need the PC to drive the printer?

Thanks!!!

Liz

Sven W

Liz,
What is your RIP software?
Many RIP's use the Host and Client opportunity, i.e. the clients sends their files to the host,
which is connected to the printer (via network or usb) and also the place where the processing of
the files take place. I most cases the RIP's supports a computer-mixed environment.

/Sven
Stockholm, Sweden

Scott Martin

• Onsight

In a design environment, running a RIP like ColorBurst has a lot of advantages when it comes to color management and press simulation. If you're not having any problems with it and you're setup for getting an excellent press simulation, I stick with it.  If it's ColorBurst that you're running you can consider moving it to a Mac if you like, but either way, the RIP needs to run on a dedicated computer. And that RIP should show up like any other networked printer that you can print to from any computer on the network.
Scott Martin
www.on-sight.com

labunski

So can we install the rip software to my MAC; the same machine I'm designing on? What is the downside/upside to that? Should it be on a machine that we don't use for anything else?

Scott Martin

• Onsight

It's best to run it on a dedicated machine. Is there a problem with your current setup? Do you just not like have a PC around?
Scott Martin
www.on-sight.com

labunski