Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: A few matting questions  (Read 3476 times)

Ed Vatza

A few matting questions
« on: March 09, 2011, 05:58:38 am »

First off let me say hi. I Ed and I'm new to Luminous Landscapes. I have a couple of matting questions that have been keeping awake nights (well not really but you know what I mean) and I thought I would turn to you folks for some help. That's when I figured out that I didn't quite know what forum to use. Since I am sitting here with a cup of coffee I thought this one might be appropriate.

Question 1 concerns the use of tape for hinge mounting the print to the backing and hinging the mat and backing together. I have tried several different varieties of archival tapes. I now have two flavors of archival framer's tape that I purchased from Matcutter and an archival artist's tape that I purchase from my local Dick Blick art supply store. Personally I prefer the artist's tape over the framer's tape mainly because it seems less permanent if you know what I mean. I want to have the option available to remove the tape without damaging the print and feel that is more likely to happen with the artist's tape than the framer's tape. Is there another choice I should be considering? Which of these tapes do you recommend?