Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: First Continuous Light Purchase  (Read 3502 times)

ryanstrong

First Continuous Light Purchase
« on: February 23, 2011, 08:35:16 pm »

I am a still fashion photographer who is making the move to add video to my set up. I shoot with a Canon 5D MKII.

I am very use to Alien Bees strobe lighting. They are not cheap but they are not expensive and for the quality they are a great product - I've never been let down.

What I am looking for in continuous lighting is something the same. I need a workhorse single light setup. Like with my Alien Bees, I want to be able to use my continuous light purchase in studio and out on location. So as I said a work horse. It needs to be fairly mobile. I usually have an assistant with me but there are occasions where I do not.

From Googling around and forum search I've landed at the Kino Flo Diva-Lite 201 as the top contender for what I am looking for. It is very important that I have a nice cool daylight balance - something to what I am use to with my strobe lighting.

Does anyone have any comments or suggestions as to what I would want that would be easy for me to step into with this new video world?

ryanstrong

Re: First Continuous Light Purchase
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2011, 02:34:53 am »

Looks good... Says they are all sold out, know anyone who stocks them?

If I were to get the 1200, what equivalent would that be in terms of light output would that be to a Alien Bee? Like an Alien Bee 400?

Morgan_Moore

• sammorganmoore.com
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2011, 05:25:10 am »

Daylight flouros have become my 'go to'

you should be aware that none of these lights are much good in the sun

S

Sam Morgan Moore Bristol UK

canmiya

• beyond stills
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2011, 08:18:49 am »

Looks good... Says they are all sold out, know anyone who stocks them?