Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: NEC PA241W advice / help needed  (Read 2648 times)

lennypierramos

NEC PA241W advice / help needed
« on: February 16, 2011, 07:37:43 am »

Hi guys,
I just received my PA241 ( european model) this morning. I'm a photography student, and REALLY NEW to all this technical stuff. I had previously bought the new Apple Cinema Display which I returned in favor of the PA241 since color accuracy is important to me.  It sounds like the people on this forum are expert so maybe you can help answer a few questions.

1- This probably sound quite dumb but the screen came with 3 different connection options Displayport / DVI / D-SUB .  I have a recent macbook pro with mini displayport.
    The obvious question is which is the best way to connect them to get the best image possible.  I often read about this screen that it allows 1 billion colors  IF CONECTED WITH        DISPLAYPORT ?.  Does it mean that the other types of connections won't allow as many colors?   And if I use an adapter displayport to minidisplay will I get the same results?
Right now it is connected with the D-SUB cable because I happened to have a D-SUB / mini display adapter around. I also have a upstream USB cable connecting my macbook pro and the screen.

2-The Second Issue is calibration.  I do not have a probe yet. I will get one soon but in the meantime what can i do to make the screen as accurate as possible? Is there anything I need to do before I start working on photos?  Set the monitor to some specific settins better suited to photography?  lower the contrast? Change the white point? Can the MultiProfiler app help getting a decent result?

I would REALLY appreciate a bit of advice!
Thanks!!

Czornyj

• zarzadzaniebarwa.pl
Re: NEC PA241W advice / help needed
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2011, 10:29:38 am »

1) AFAIK it won't work in 10bit mode - neither OS-X, nor Macbook graphic card, nor Photoshop support it, so don't bother it