Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Cotton source for rag  (Read 8087 times)

robb thurmond

Cotton source for rag
« on: January 24, 2011, 04:20:31 pm »

I am a graduate student in a graphic design program and have been doing a LOT of printing within the last few months. Part of my thesis incorporates sustainable materials, and that got me thinking.

Where is all of the cotton we print on (rag and canvas) sourced? I've read that some of the rags use textile clippings, but can't get any verification.

I know that the "greenwashing" movement has made organic a bad word in a lot of circles and organic has quite a few meanings, but not using pesticides on cotton has a lot of merits. Are any manufacturers using organic cotton?

Thoughts?

davidh202

Re: Cotton source for rag
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2011, 08:19:01 pm »

Good question Robb,
 I use a considerable amount of cotton Rag Mats in my framing business and I don't believe any of the Mat companies are on the Green bandwagon except for the fact that they say "cotton is a renewable resource"

From Crescent Cardboard...
Cotton Matboard:
• RagMat meets museum conservation standards as set by F.A.T.G.
• Made of strong cotton fibers, which are naturally acid-free and lignin-free.
• Cotton is time-tested.
• Cotton is annually renewable and environmentally friendly
• Cotton RagMat is the only matboard guaranteed safe next
to any artwork.

I cannot attest to any of the photo paper manufacturers though.
You might want to question  them directly!?

neile

• http://www.danecreekfolios.com
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2011, 08:33:43 pm »

On the matboard side of things Larson-Juhl is actively working to provide certified matboard. More at http://www.larsonjuhl.com/certifications.aspx.

But that doesn't really address the OP's question about paper. Sorry :)

Neil
Neil Enns
Dane Creek Folio Covers. Limited edition Tuscan Sun and Citron covers are now in stock!

davidh202

« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2011, 09:41:14 pm »

neile,