Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Longevity of framed prints?  (Read 4432 times)

KirbyKrieger

• Kirby Krieger Pictures
Longevity of framed prints?
« on: December 26, 2010, 12:21:02 pm »

Hi.  I'm an artist -- painter -- who stumbled into photography.  I have now begun to sell (one or two) prints.  The buyer wants to know how long the prints will last, whether they can be displayed in a room with sunlight, and how best to protect them.

Anyone?

I'm printing with an Epson 3880, always on fine art paper, always with matte black ink.  I have suggested framing them under UV glass (does this affect the color?).

Thanks.

Alan Goldhammer

• A Goldhammer Photography
Re: Longevity of framed prints?
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2010, 09:31:31 am »

Hi.  I'm an artist -- painter -- who stumbled into photography.  I have now begun to sell (one or two) prints.  The buyer wants to know how long the prints will last, whether they can be displayed in a room with sunlight, and how best to protect them.

Anyone?

I'm printing with an Epson 3880, always on fine art paper, always with matte black ink.  I have suggested framing them under UV glass (does this affect the color?).

Thanks.
Depending on the paper, UV glass will have an impact.  If the paper has optical brightening agents (OBAs), the answer is yes.  Direct sunlight is a real No-No as it will cause fading at a more rapid pace than would normally occur.  I frame using good quality plexi as it's lighter in weight and there is no danger of breakage.

There are a number of discussion threads on print permanency over in the Printers, Papers, and Inks section of this forum.  The best data out there on fading is at:  http://www.aardenburg-imaging.com/index.html  There is a small membership fee to get access to the entire database, but it's a project well worth supporting.

Alan

mediumcool

« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2011, 09:15:22 pm »

And there is Henry Wilhelm ...