Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Max print size from 6Mb camera  (Read 13296 times)

Lisa Nikodym

• http://www.stanford.edu/~melkor/lisa_pictures/lisa_pictures.html
Max print size from 6Mb camera
« on: September 22, 2004, 12:32:43 pm »

[font color=\'#000000\']A little simple math:
If the pixels are similar quality (which they probably are in this case, if you use similar quality lenses), then the increased print size you'll get for more pixels, in terms of each linear dimension, is the ratio of the square root of the number of pixels.  In other words, you'll get 15% bigger prints in each dimension for the 8 mp compared with the 6 mp.  So if 6 mp can give you 12"x18" (just as an example), then 8 mp will give you about 13.9"x20.8" with the same quality.  Not that big a difference, IMO.

Lisa

(P.S.  Can you tell I'm an engineer? ::  )[/font]
[url=http://www.stanford.edu/~melkor/lis

dtrayers

• http://
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2004, 11:09:57 am »

[font color=\'#000000\']Excellent narrative, Lin.

Could you expand more on the concept of 'marker pixels'?  Perhaps show an example of what you're referring to?[/font]
- Dave

Quentin

• Quentin on Facebook
« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2004, 11:04:34 am »

[font color=\'#000000\']Very interesting.  What Lin is I think defining in more precise terms is what I have called the "falling apart" point.  A digital image, unlike a film image, can look superb and detailed, then suddenly fall apart when you reach a certain magnification.  Presumably this is the point where the marker pixels, in Lin's terminology, become apparent.   This effect is not apparent with fim, where degradation in image quality appears more of a progressive process.

Quentin[/font]
Quentin Bargate, ARPS, Author, Arbitrato

Jonathan Wienke

• http://visual-vacations.com/
« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2004, 02:52:39 pm »