Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: transferring files / validation?  (Read 2207 times)

lightstand

transferring files / validation?
« on: December 08, 2010, 09:31:38 pm »

I was wondering if someone would walk me through the proper procedures for transferring files from one hard drive to another while validating the the transfer.  Can I do this manually with just the utilities that come with OS 10.6(apple) or do I need a specific software to do this?  I really don't want to buy a piece of software just to transfer files.

The reason for the question is all the recent talk about validating files and my need to transfer large amounts of backup files from external hard drives to internal hard drives so I can then erase the external drives, but I must know that the files are in good working order.

Yes I am a complete beginner/novice when it comes to computer procedures and appreciate any help that can be given.  thanks, jeff

degrub

Re: transferring files / validation?
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2010, 08:59:56 am »

short of opening the files and looking at them, you could do a md5checksum and comparison. There are batch utilities to do so. search on md5sum or md5cksum.

Gregs

« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2010, 04:48:36 pm »

TeraCopy - a free utility - can be set to error check after copying or moving.

Nigel Johnson

« Reply #3 on: December 12, 2010, 10:48:08 am »

Jeff

I would recommend Carbon Copy Cloner, it carries out verification. It is donationware and all the features work in demo mode. I have been using it for several years and thoroughly recommend it. If you find it useful please consider donating. The program can be found at http://www.bombich.com/ccc_features.html.