Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Use Magne Camera Profiles with Capture One 6?  (Read 4865 times)

Paul Sumi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1217
Use Magne Camera Profiles with Capture One 6?
« on: December 05, 2010, 12:36:22 AM »

I've been unsuccessfully trying to install my Magne camera profiles into C1 Pro v6.  These worked all the way through version 5.

Do the Magne profiles even work with version 6?

I'm using the 32 bit Windows version on a XP SP3 box.

Any help greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Paul

Paul Sumi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1217
Re: Use Magne Camera Profiles with Capture One 6?
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2010, 05:44:41 PM »

I asked Phase One support, who replied:

We can not comment on 3rd party providers compatiblity with our software.
You should gain this information from the 3rd party 'magne'

In Windows XP profiles should be placed in \Windows\system32\spool\drivers\color


I think I already have my Magne camera profiles there so I'll check to see if that makes any difference.

Paul

« Last Edit: December 07, 2010, 05:48:02 PM by Paul Sumi »
Logged

Paul Sumi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1217
Re: Use Magne Camera Profiles with Capture One 6?
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2010, 12:33:04 PM »

Someone in the Phase One user forums came up with the answer:

Yes, they work with CO 6.0.

1. Copy ETC profiles to C:\Program Files\Phase One\Capture One 6\Color Profiles\DSLR.
2. Rename them to conform to the new camera profile naming convention.

In my case I copied following files:
Canon-5D-C1-ETC-V200-HiSat.icc
Canon-5D-C1-ETC-V200-LoSat.icc

Next I renamed them to:

CanonEOS5D-C1-ETC-V200-HiSat.icc
CanonEOS5D-C1-ETC-V200-LoSat.icc

EricWHiss

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2547
    • Rolleiflex USA
Re: Use Magne Camera Profiles with Capture One 6?
« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2010, 01:31:08 AM »

Just curious how you like the profiles?
Logged
Authorized Rolleiflex Dealer:
Find product information, download user manuals, or purchase online - Rolleiflex USA

Paul Sumi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1217
Re: Use Magne Camera Profiles with Capture One 6?
« Reply #4 on: December 10, 2010, 01:53:41 AM »

Eric,

I like them quite a bit, although current C1 camera profiles have made it more a matter of personal taste than a necessity.  I have Magne profiles for the Canon 10D, 1D2 and 1DS2 cameras.

A couple of caveats.  Magne doesn't seem to be producing new profiles, the latest I've seen is for the original 5D (not the MK2).  So I am not sure he is still in business.  Additionally, the Etcetera site seems to be having problems.

http://www.etcetera.cc/pub/index.php

Hope this helps.

Paul
« Last Edit: December 10, 2010, 01:55:25 AM by Paul Sumi »
Logged

Doug Peterson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3404
    • http://www.doug-peterson.com
Re: Use Magne Camera Profiles with Capture One 6?
« Reply #5 on: December 10, 2010, 05:31:17 PM »

Eric,

I like them quite a bit, although current C1 camera profiles have made it more a matter of personal taste than a necessity.  I have Magne profiles for the Canon 10D, 1D2 and 1DS2 cameras.

A couple of caveats.  Magne doesn't seem to be producing new profiles, the latest I've seen is for the original 5D (not the MK2).  So I am not sure he is still in business.  Additionally, the Etcetera site seems to be having problems.

Part of the loss of appeal may be that the tools for color have come a long way since the days of the 1Ds II.

LightRoom can create an accurate profile using a Color Checker Passport and tweak a particular hue one way or another.

Capture One Pro can create an accurate (or aesthetic) using a built in sophisticated ICC profile editor ("color editor") including color uniformity, saturation based changes, and color shifts and save a new ICC profile for that camera.

Doug Peterson (e-mail Me)
__________________

Head of Technical Services, Capture Integration
Phase One Partner of the Year
Leaf, Leica, Cambo, Arca Swiss, Canon, Apple, Profoto, Broncolor, Eizo & More

National: 877.217.9870  |  Cell: 740.707.2183
Newsletter | RSS Feed
Buy Capture One 6 at 10% off

Paul Sumi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1217
Re: Use Magne Camera Profiles with Capture One 6?
« Reply #6 on: December 10, 2010, 06:40:00 PM »

Part of the loss of appeal may be that the tools for color have come a long way since the days of the 1Ds II.

Doug, I have to agree.  Back in the day Magne provided a valuable service to those of us who wanted accurate color rendition from RAW developers like Capture One.  Today's built-in color tools are much advanced over those available then.

However, I wonder if there might still be a market for people who want their specific cameras profiled, the same as for custom-profiling printers and papers.

Paul
« Last Edit: December 10, 2010, 06:42:44 PM by Paul Sumi »
Logged

shewhorn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 537
    • http://
Re: Use Magne Camera Profiles with Capture One 6?
« Reply #7 on: December 10, 2010, 08:28:33 PM »

Eric,

I like them quite a bit, although current C1 camera profiles have made it more a matter of personal taste than a necessity.  I have Magne profiles for the Canon 10D, 1D2 and 1DS2 cameras.

A couple of caveats.  Magne doesn't seem to be producing new profiles, the latest I've seen is for the original 5D (not the MK2).  So I am not sure he is still in business.

I seem to remember him sending an email out about 5 years ago saying that he was no longer going to be developing profiles as the piracy of his profiles had gotten to a point where he could no longer sustain a viable business off of it.

Cheers, Joe
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up