Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: D7000 Full Well  (Read 3782 times)

bjanes

D7000 Full Well
« on: November 17, 2010, 09:46:42 pm »

But I did come across a calculation that deduced the full-well capacity of the 7D pixel is 29,500e-. Whether or not that's accurate, I have no idea.

But for argument's sake, lets assume such simulations and estimates are true. Let's assume that the 29,500e- full-well capacity of the 7D is true. The D7000 with slightly larger photosites and a slightly larger sensor than the 7D, could then reasonably have a full-well capacity in excess of 30,000e-.

Ray,

Your data about the full well of the D7000 appears reasonable. One can extract a wealth of information from the DXO data. Their full SNR graph for the D7000 is shown below. For some reason they express SNR in decibels according to 20*log (mean/std dev); I am not an engineer, but I would think that 10*log(mead/std dev) would be more appropriate since we are dealing with counts and not voltage as Peter Facey notes. Anyway, the SNR at 100% of gray scale for the D7000 is 44.4 dB according to my interpolation, or 166:1.

According to Roger Clark, the square of the SNR equals the number of photons (photo electrons) collected. 166^2 =  27,556. At a SNR of 1, the gray scale value is 0.01%, or 13.3 stops below saturation, corresponding to the DXO reported DR of 13.35 stops.

Regards,

Bill

Ray

Re: D7000 Full Well
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2010, 11:58:24 pm »

Ray,

Your data about the full well of the D7000 appears reasonable. One can extract a wealth of information from the DXO data. Their full SNR graph for the D7000 is shown below. For some reason they express SNR in decibels according to 20*log (mean/std dev); I am not an engineer, but I would think that 10*log(mead/std dev) would be more appropriate since we are dealing with counts and not voltage as Peter Facey notes. Anyway, the SNR at 100% of gray scale for the D7000 is 44.4 dB according to my interpolation, or 166:1.