Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Purchasing 24" Printer for Canvas - Would I Regret Not Getting 44"?  (Read 7839 times)

Light Seeker

I'm not sure that anyone can really answer this for me, but I need to talk this out and I'd appreciate your perspectives.

I have a 17" printer right now. I would like to work more with Canvas, and 17" is of course very limiting. I'm not a high volume printer, so the cost justification of moving up to 24" is difficult, let along moving all the way to 44". However, it would be very frustrating to later discover that 24" is still not enough.

I realize that a 24" printer would limit me to a 20" gallery wrap, or a 24" print if I go borderless and glue the canvas to gator board and mount that into a floating frame. Most of my printing will be either scenic or people shots, taken with a 12Mp camera (Nikon D700). I suspect that 20" / 24" prints will already be pressing the limits of my camera, but I have no direct experience to confirm that.

I make prints for few others, and 24" appears to be large enough to address these needs. However, I wouldn't mind picking up some reproduction work for local artists. However, the need / potential is an unknown at this point.

Aside from Canvas, I print on matte and fine art gloss media. I'm much more comfortable living with a 24" limit for that work.

Any words of wisdom or advice? Are there other things I need to consider?

I appreciate your help.

Terry.

Wayne Fox

• waynefox.com
Re: Purchasing 24" Printer for Canvas - Would I Regret Not Getting 44"?
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2010, 08:51:31 pm »

I realize that a 24" printer would limit me to a 20" gallery wrap
Perhaps, but a good gallery wrap is at least 1.5 to 2 inches, which mean you would get more like a 18" or 19" gallery wrap.  I find small gallery wraps sort of odd ... it seems to look better on much larger prints, but that's just a imho.