Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Focus glass falls loose on EOS 5D Mark II  (Read 18240 times)

bernt

Focus glass falls loose on EOS 5D Mark II
« on: October 26, 2010, 01:29:28 pm »

I have owned: EOS 30D, 40D, 50D, EOS 5, EOS 1D Mark III. I am a semi-professional photografer and I have published 8 books with more than 2000 pictures taken with these cameras. I am not a new beginner.
I worked with my one year old EOS 5D Mark II with no problem a couple of months ago, stored it about two weeks without taking the lens off, when I took it out again I could not use the camera. When I took the lens off both the focusing screen and the superimpose plate fell out of the camera house.
This has happened on numerous occasions for several users even on brand nes cameras, see: http://www.dvinfo.net/forum/canon-eos-5d-mk-ii-hd/484053-focusing-screen-fell-out.html
-
Canon does not acknowledge this problem and do not accept that this is a construction fault or a guarantee matter. I had to pay  fully for the "repair", even though they "found nothing wrong with the camera house".
This is obviously a bad construction!
To me it is bad policy from Canon that not to acknowledge this problem as a constuction fault.
Sorry, but I can´t recommend this camera to anyone anymore after this. I just won´t be able to trust it out in the field.
Any other users of this camera that experienced the same thing?

Steve Weldon

• Bangkok Images
Re: Focus glass falls loose on EOS 5D Mark II
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2010, 03:36:10 pm »

Quite a rant for your second post.  If you really think you're going to have any effect on peoples choice to use Canon I think you'll be disappointed.

I'd suggest you save your receipt.  The 5d had the same issue and once Canon recognized the problem they paid for all repairs and if I'm not mistaken, still do on the 5d.