Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Ahhh dust is invading my back!  (Read 2967 times)

NickCroken

Ahhh dust is invading my back!
« on: October 09, 2010, 10:27:41 pm »

Since I am new to the digi mf game this may seem like a foolish question but I must ask anyway.  Is it common for dust to get under the protective glass covering the sensor?  I was noticing dust in my images so I did a dry clean and there was still dust.  Tried a wet clean and got rid of a little bit more but discovered that there was dust under the glass.  I am shooting with an Aptus 65.  Would you recommend sending the back away or trying to remove the glass and eliminating the dust myself.  I am open to all suggestions, especially ones which allow me to keep the back in my possession as I do not have the funds to buy a second back.

HarperPhotos

• http://www.harperphoto.com
Re: Ahhh dust is invading my back!
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2010, 10:53:55 pm »

Hi Nick,

Sorry to read about your predicament. I have a Aptus 75 and have never experienced dust under the glass cover. I would sagest you get in touch with your local Leaf distributor and see if they can loan you a back so yours can be properly serviced.
I wound not try and do this yourself.

Cheers

Simon
Simon Harper
Harper Photographics Ltd
http://www.harperphoto.com
http://www.facebook.com/harper.photographics

Auckland, New Zealand

NickCroken

« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2010, 09:50:43 am »

Has anyone else had this problem?  I see lots of views but no replies. 

Dustbak

• Pepperanddust
« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2010, 10:07:30 am »

No, I have not had dust under my IR glass. I did have a back that had its IR glass invested with fungus. You are sure it is dust? The fungus was also beneath the glas, and naturally could not be removed. I ended up upgrading the back and figured the cost of repair I saved was a nice discount on the upgrade price.

Weldon Brewster

• http://www.weldonbrewster.com
« Reply #4 on: October 13, 2010, 10:10:49 am »