Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Eyeglass question & color  (Read 4298 times)

walter.sk

Eyeglass question & color
« on: September 16, 2010, 09:57:35 pm »

I should probably have posted this on an opticians' website but, since color vision is so important to me as a photographer I am asking this here, hoping that somebody has an answer.

I just got new glasses, with high-index lenses, and for the first time in my long life, progressive lenses rather than bifocals.  I do lots of photography and post work on the computer, and I seem to have adjusted quickly to the progressives.  Now, I can actually *read* the text on my NEC 3090, which is more than 2 feet across my desk.

The problem comes when I look at images projected on a screen, and also when I drive.  There seems to be a color fringing effect.  For example, when I look straight ahead but shift my eyes up toward the top of the lenses, the tops of trees far down the road seem to have a red/yellow fringe on the tops.  Looking at the screen with projected images, I also notice some color fringing that goes away if I move my head up or down a bit.  All of this stinks, because I have to see accurate colors.

Are these problems because of the progressive aspect of the lenses, or of the nature of the high index glass (plastic, I guess)?  Or did I just end up with some poorly designed/ground lenses?

digitaldog

• Andrew Rodney
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: Eyeglass question & color
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2010, 10:16:41 pm »

I ended up just having a set made for computer work, no bifocal/progressives. One reason was neither prescription was ideal. I do have to take them off to do other tasks, but for long hours at the computer, they are ideal.
http://www.digitaldog.net/
Author "Color Management for Photographers".

Johnny_Johnson

« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2010, 01:10:39 am »