Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Photokit Sharpener, Lightroom, CS5, I'm confused  (Read 5234 times)

jnmoore

Photokit Sharpener, Lightroom, CS5, I'm confused
« on: September 04, 2010, 12:10:04 am »

Hello,

I've been printing for several years with the PhotoKit Sharpener in Photoshop with good results on my inkjet printers. The concept that was promoted was that different sharpening was needed for smaller and larger paper sizes. This worked well with my home set-up and archival inks/paper etc.

Now I have Lightroom 3 and Photoshop CS5 and I can't seem to install Photokit. (Mac OS) As well, I have heard that this software was folded into Lightroom 3.

I'm proofing some metal prints (Bay Photo) and the results were good but not right including the sharpening. (no Photokit involved). In fairness, these images are very detailed Mandala photo collages so not your normal portrait or landscape.

Does this mean that my best bet is to do final sharpening in Lightroom for a commercial printer? Does the print size not matter anymore?

Any help much appreciated.

John

johnagon.com

sniper

Re: Photokit Sharpener, Lightroom, CS5, I'm confused
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2010, 03:27:03 pm »

Photokit sharpner works fine with CS5 (on windows) I  use it every day, don't have a mac handy and it's not installed in work (won't go into why here) more lightly it's a compatability issue?

ErikKaffehr

• Echophoto
« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2010, 03:49:44 pm »

Hi,

The capture sharpening in LR3 is actually PKS on steroids. It's has been developed by the late Bruce Fraser and Jeff Schewe. The reason it's PKS on steroids is that Adobe added new code to implement capture sharpening.

Output sharpening in LR is also based on PKS. LR knows the print size and applies the correct sharpening for the chosen size and resolution. Much of this is coming from Jeff Schewe and Eric Chan ('madmanchen' on these forums).

PKS may still be needed/useful for "creative sharpening".