Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 7900 - clogged nozzles (AGAIN)  (Read 4930 times)

bellimages

• http://www.bellimages.com
7900 - clogged nozzles (AGAIN)
« on: September 01, 2010, 08:56:30 pm »

Okay, I'm still new to this printer. And you told me to learn from this forum. So here goes .....

I did as many of you recommended, I turned OFF the "Auto Nozzle Check." Since doing that, I run a nozzle check every couple of prints. About once or twice/week, there is some clogging, so I clean the heads (via the Epson Printer Utility). One cleaning seems to correct the clogging.

Tonight, after printing an image, the display says "Clogged Nozzles Detected, Cleaning Recommended."

This is NOT what I anticipated when I ordered this printer. I'm not sure what to do. In the future, there may be weeks where I don't use the printer -- what might happen then???

Nozzle checks wastes ink; and cleaning wastes MORE ink. Is this something that I'm just going to have to put up with, or should Epson send a tech to replace the print head???

Jan Bell, Owner/Photographer, Bell Image

dgberg

• http://bergsprintstudio.com http://bergscustomfurniture.com
Re: 7900 - clogged nozzles (AGAIN)
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2010, 07:07:45 am »

Not sure what to tell you other then nozzle checks are a regular pre-maintenance item for Epson wide format printers. The other way to check your nozzles is to print and find out after printing that a  channel is clogged and the print is ruined. I know which one I do.
The nozzle check process uses a very small amount of ink,not sure of the exact amount.
I am assuming when you have a clog you do the pairs clean as it uses the least amount of ink.
Our first 3 months with the 7900 had quite a few clog problems. Not sure if the firmware upgrades fixed it but it has really settled down.
I might do some form of clean once every other month. The biggest factor for less clogging might be that I am printing more then a year ago.