Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: How to check digital back for problems?  (Read 3114 times)

nightfire

How to check digital back for problems?
« on: September 01, 2010, 02:39:04 am »

I'm about to receive a digital back for my Hasselblad V. Since I'm new to medium-format digital, what are the usual procedures to examine a back in detail for technical problems and issues after purchase? I already thought about checking for sensor scratches and hot pixels. What other tests should I do to ascertain myself that the back, as well as the entire back/body/lens combo, will the deliver the best performance possible? Thanks!

Graham Mitchell

Re: How to check digital back for problems?
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2010, 03:28:26 am »

Apart from the obvious sensor scratches and hot pixels, I would recommend you test all ports/interfaces as working, e.g. the firewire port.

eddysmit

« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2010, 03:42:33 am »

Also the strobe connectors if it has them.
If you have it, you have to see if it is in focus and that you can correct it with shims.
See if the sensor is not off parallel.

ondebanks

« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2010, 06:30:17 am »

First and most important, "RTFM" - make sure that you are familiar with everything it can do and how to do it.

Check that it mounts/dismounts positively on the camera.
Check that the batteries charge ok.
Check that both batteries and DC adapter power it ok.
Check that images write to card ok and can be deleted in-camera.
Check that it tethers to computer ok.
Check any other ports - video out, flash synch, serial in.
Check that all the menu settings and buttons do what they're supposed to - shoot at different ISOs, white balances, image review options...
Shoot at the shortest and longest exposures that the camera/back permits, and check that you get an image.
In the case of long exposures, check that the option to take & subtract internal dark frames works both on and off (if it has this option)