Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Help!! From PC to Mac...  (Read 6228 times)

ron ritcher

Help!! From PC to Mac...
« on: August 21, 2010, 03:32:10 pm »

I'm a photo hobbyist with hundreds, not thousands, of images.  I know a bit about photography, but NOTHING about computers, but have noticed that my PC desktop is not only old but slowing down -- time to replace it.  A new iMac has been offered by my dad, but I've been reluctant to change platforms; installing softwear and configuring a system is REALLY FOREIGN and PAINFUL for me.  This offer, though, seems too good to ignore, so my questions:

1.  What about the image programs I currently use?  Will I have to upgrade/start over, or can I somehow transfer them to the iMac?  I've got CS 3, Imageprint, C1 (3.6 or thereabouts), Photokit Sharpener (1.2.6), along with a noiseware plugin.  Could someone describe my options here?

2.  My photo files are stored on an external hard drive, backed-up to another -- both, obviously, formatted for Windows.  How do I go about accessing those files with a new operating system and then (can this even be done?) re-formatting the drives?

Thanks in advance for your help!

--Ron

Chairman Bill

• flickr page
Re: Help!! From PC to Mac...
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2010, 03:51:23 pm »

If necessary you can boot the Mac (assuming it's an Intel chip) into Windoze.

Kevin Gallagher

« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2010, 04:27:44 pm »