Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: delete lightroom's develop presets  (Read 11003 times)

geesbert

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 626
    • http://www.randlkofer.com
delete lightroom's develop presets
« on: August 15, 2010, 05:30:52 PM »

is there a way to delete some of the lightroom develop presets? at no time ever do I need crap like 'purple glasses' or 'yesteryear'.


stefan
Logged
-------------------------
WWW.RANDLKOFER.COM

StuartOnline

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 375
    • Google+ Blog
Re: delete lightroom's develop presets
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2010, 05:51:54 PM »

is there a way to delete some of the lightroom develop presets? at no time ever do I need crap like 'purple glasses' or 'yesteryear'.


stefan

You should be able to delete presets by highlighting and then click on the (-) sign located just to the right of the Presets button.
Minus sign will appear once you click on one the presets.
Logged

wolfnowl

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5821
    • M&M's Musings
Re: delete lightroom's develop presets
« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2010, 01:55:07 AM »

You can right-click on any Develop preset and simply select 'delete'.  You can also right-click on any Develop preset and select 'show in Explorer' - then go to the Develop presets folder and delete whatever presets you want - although I believe you'll have to restart Lightroom afterward to get it to know about the changes.

Mike.
Logged
If your mind is attuned to beauty, you find beauty in everything.
~ Jean Cooke ~

My Flickr site / Random Thoughts and Other Meanderings at M&M's Musings

geesbert

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 626
    • http://www.randlkofer.com
Re: delete lightroom's develop presets
« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2010, 03:03:21 AM »

neither the minus thing nor the right click works on Adobe's presets. they don't appear in the preset folder. where do they hide?
Logged
-------------------------
WWW.RANDLKOFER.COM

john beardsworth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3669
    • http://www.beardsworth.co.uk
Re: delete lightroom's develop presets
« Reply #4 on: August 16, 2010, 04:15:45 AM »

You can't delete them

John R Smith

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1357
  • Still crazy, after all these years
Re: delete lightroom's develop presets
« Reply #5 on: August 16, 2010, 04:33:18 AM »

You can't delete them

No you can't, and there are so many of them now in LR3 that they are a real pain. I just hide them. Why on earth the LR Team couldn't have found a way of putting them into Themed sub-folders I really don't know. Or have provided a way of removing them as a set-up option.

The other thing I would like to do is to remove modules which I never use - Web and Slideshow. Then I would just have Library, Develop, and Print, which represents my workflow.

John
Logged
Hasselblad 500 C/M, SWC and CFV-39 DB
and a case full of (very old) lenses and other bits

john beardsworth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3669
    • http://www.beardsworth.co.uk
Re: delete lightroom's develop presets
« Reply #6 on: August 16, 2010, 06:32:39 AM »

You can do that but it's an utter waste of effort.
« Last Edit: August 16, 2010, 09:03:41 AM by johnbeardy »
Logged

John R Smith

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1357
  • Still crazy, after all these years
Re: delete lightroom's develop presets
« Reply #7 on: August 16, 2010, 06:54:57 AM »

You can do that but it's at utter waste of effort.

Referring to which part of my post, John?
Logged
Hasselblad 500 C/M, SWC and CFV-39 DB
and a case full of (very old) lenses and other bits

john beardsworth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3669
    • http://www.beardsworth.co.uk
Re: delete lightroom's develop presets
« Reply #8 on: August 16, 2010, 09:05:41 AM »

Sorry, referring to removing modules you don't use. While you can do so, you'll save little or no resources, and you'll have to repeat the process next time you update Lightroom.

John R Smith

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1357
  • Still crazy, after all these years
Re: delete lightroom's develop presets
« Reply #9 on: August 16, 2010, 09:25:34 AM »

Sorry, referring to removing modules you don't use. While you can do so, you'll save little or no resources, and you'll have to repeat the process next time you update Lightroom.

Yes, and seeing how often we're updating LR at the moment that could get somewhat tedious . . .  I wasn't after efficiency savings, actually, I just wanted to get rid of Module headings at the top right of the screen which I don't use. Then I would have my name top left (as it is now, in VERY LARGE letters - no ego here, you notice), and on the other side Library, Develop and Print. Minimalist and elegant, just like me . . .

John
Logged
Hasselblad 500 C/M, SWC and CFV-39 DB
and a case full of (very old) lenses and other bits

John R Smith

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1357
  • Still crazy, after all these years
Re: delete lightroom's develop presets
« Reply #10 on: August 16, 2010, 10:43:22 AM »

Further thoughts -

With the presets issue, I strongly suspect that this is an example of how you just can't win if you are a software developer (like being part of the Adobe LR Team, perhaps). With best motives in the world, they think - "Gosh, let's give the users a whole raft of brilliant new develop presets!" And they do. Then mingy old gits like me look at them and think, holy cow, these are all truly horrible and I will continue to use my own presets thank you very much indeed.

The solution, I think, is to just make this more user-configurable. The factory presets should be capable of installation or removal, just like any other plugin. The we can all be happy.

John
Logged
Hasselblad 500 C/M, SWC and CFV-39 DB
and a case full of (very old) lenses and other bits

Happyfish

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 30
Re: delete lightroom's develop presets
« Reply #11 on: August 16, 2010, 11:07:35 AM »

to remove the print module and slideshow on a mac you can go to the ap then right click show package contents then in the contents folder go to the plugins and just drag those modules to the plugins diabled folder next to it :)

not sure if it effects anything down the line ?
had tried this when trying to speed up LR figuring if less is going on maybe it would be quicker :)

path to the presets is
/Applications/Adobe Lightroom 3.app/Contents/PlugIns/Develop.lrmodule/Contents

but the dumb top folder is still their :) but just go to the above and scroll down and you will see templates folder
the thing is you cant have folders and organize them in that folder ?
create a alias then you can delete them every time quickly though ?
« Last Edit: August 16, 2010, 11:20:40 AM by Happyfish »
Logged

john beardsworth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3669
    • http://www.beardsworth.co.uk
Re: delete lightroom's develop presets
« Reply #12 on: August 16, 2010, 11:10:22 AM »

It doesn't make Lightroom faster and it's a stupid thing to do.

Happyfish

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 30
Re: delete lightroom's develop presets
« Reply #13 on: August 16, 2010, 11:21:58 AM »

no does not make it faster ? sadly !
yeah stupid but when it was so dog slow and trying to see if it matters was worth trying it out ?

Logged

geesbert

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 626
    • http://www.randlkofer.com
Logged
-------------------------
WWW.RANDLKOFER.COM

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11839
    • http://digitaldog.net/
Re: delete lightroom's develop presets
« Reply #15 on: November 07, 2010, 05:57:05 PM »

What am I missing? Just close the Lightroom Presets (down arrow), keep the User Presets open? If there are a few Lightroom presets you like, seems easy enough to duplicate those as user presets.
Logged
Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/

geesbert

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 626
    • http://www.randlkofer.com
Re: delete lightroom's develop presets
« Reply #16 on: November 08, 2010, 01:39:16 AM »

there is no arrow key in 'saved preset' in the quick develop tab. one has to scroll down through all the crap to get to their own presets every time, which is annoying.
Logged
-------------------------
WWW.RANDLKOFER.COM

Costas

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 60
Re: delete lightroom's develop presets
« Reply #17 on: November 08, 2010, 05:36:43 AM »

.... and its the same when looking for a develop preset during import, you first have to wade through all the built in stuff before you get to your own presets. At the very least, display priority should be given to user presets
Logged

NikoJorj

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1057
    • http://nikojorj.free.fr/
Re: delete lightroom's develop presets
« Reply #18 on: November 08, 2010, 06:31:16 AM »

Just close the Lightroom Presets (down arrow), keep the User Presets open?
This solve the issue in the presets tab of the develop module, but not elsewhere they appear : right-click in Library module (the number of LR presets makes the menu scrollable on my 1200px high screen, not that practical in UI terms), import, etc...

The XN resource editor way is tedious but works OK (NB : I tested it on LR2 and it didn't).

Logged
Nicolas from Grenoble
A small gallery

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11839
    • http://digitaldog.net/
Re: delete lightroom's develop presets
« Reply #19 on: November 08, 2010, 09:25:16 AM »

At the very least, display priority should be given to user presets

Excellent idea!
Logged
Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up