Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 5D, New Firmware, External Audio  (Read 4841 times)

mike.online

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 207
    • http://mikedotonline.blogspot.com
5D, New Firmware, External Audio
« on: August 02, 2010, 06:45:45 PM »

Hokay,

So I've been around the web, google and Lula have done me well - I've learned a lot. My next video purchase will be the Zoom H4n I think. However, I'm wondering what the effect of the new audio levels output of the 5dMkII means if we are always syncing the audio up after in post production.

Because of the new firmware that allows levels, does that mean you can get good audio from a mic that is directly inputted into the 5D? Or, should we still use a separate device like the Zoom H4n and live with synch in post? If we are syncing in post all the time, doesn't that make the levels output of the newer firmware kinda useless?

Thanks,
- Mike

Imaginara

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 114
5D, New Firmware, External Audio
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2010, 10:07:13 AM »

Quote from: mike.online
Hokay,

So I've been around the web, google and Lula have done me well - I've learned a lot. My next video purchase will be the Zoom H4n I think. However, I'm wondering what the effect of the new audio levels output of the 5dMkII means if we are always syncing the audio up after in post production.

Because of the new firmware that allows levels, does that mean you can get good audio from a mic that is directly inputted into the 5D? Or, should we still use a separate device like the Zoom H4n and live with synch in post? If we are syncing in post all the time, doesn't that make the levels output of the newer firmware kinda useless?

Thanks,
- Mike

Well i use a H4N as the main mic preamp, then run a line from the H4N to the mic input on the camera. That way i record synced audio, but with proper level and pre-amp control.

Works a treat =)

Logged

mike.online

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 207
    • http://mikedotonline.blogspot.com
5D, New Firmware, External Audio
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2010, 09:55:22 AM »

Cool! Does the H4n still store on its own memory as well for a second backup ?

RFPhotography

  • Guest
Re: 5D, New Firmware, External Audio
« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2010, 07:30:22 AM »

Hokay,

So I've been around the web, google and Lula have done me well - I've learned a lot. My next video purchase will be the Zoom H4n I think. However, I'm wondering what the effect of the new audio levels output of the 5dMkII means if we are always syncing the audio up after in post production.

Because of the new firmware that allows levels, does that mean you can get good audio from a mic that is directly inputted into the 5D? Or, should we still use a separate device like the Zoom H4n and live with synch in post? If we are syncing in post all the time, doesn't that make the levels output of the newer firmware kinda useless?

Thanks,
- Mike

Guessing you mean 5D MkII?
Logged

Eric Myrvaagnes

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11176
    • http://myrvaagnes.com
Re: 5D, New Firmware, External Audio
« Reply #4 on: September 17, 2010, 09:53:01 AM »

Guessing you mean 5D MkII?
I hope so. I can't find any way to do movies on my lowly 5D. It won't even make coffee.

Eric
Logged
-Eric Myrvaagnes

http://myrvaagnes.com  Visit my photo website. New images each season. Also visit my new website: http://ericneedsakidney.org
Pages: [1]   Go Up