Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down

Author Topic: Photokit Sharpener and Lightroom 3  (Read 9236 times)

henk

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 117
Photokit Sharpener and Lightroom 3
« Reply #20 on: August 06, 2010, 05:26:08 PM »

Hello,
I think it was LR1, long time ago, when I picked up these setting for input sharpening from Jeff on this forum:

PKS medium edge   A=37; R=1.0; D=35; M=40
PKS Narrow edge   A=40; R=0.8; D=50; M=0
PKS Super fine   A=45; R=0.5; D=80; M=0
PKS Wide edge   A=35; R=1.2; D=20; M=70

I have made presets for these settings as a starter
Hope This will help.
Henk
Logged

HickersonJasonC

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 158
Photokit Sharpener and Lightroom 3
« Reply #21 on: August 07, 2010, 12:33:39 PM »

Quote from: henk
Hello,
I think it was LR1, long time ago, when I picked up these setting for input sharpening from Jeff on this forum:

PKS medium edge   A=37; R=1.0; D=35; M=40
PKS Narrow edge   A=40; R=0.8; D=50; M=0
PKS Super fine   A=45; R=0.5; D=80; M=0
PKS Wide edge   A=35; R=1.2; D=20; M=70

I have made presets for these settings as a starter
Hope This will help.
Henk

I have these as a preset in my LR as well, but couldn't remember where I got them. Kinda wondering if these should be updated with LR3?
Logged

Schewe

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5986
    • http:www.schewephoto.com
Photokit Sharpener and Lightroom 3
« Reply #22 on: August 07, 2010, 02:12:22 PM »

Quote from: HickersonJasonC
I have these as a preset in my LR as well, but couldn't remember where I got them. Kinda wondering if these should be updated with LR3?


Absolutely...Process 2010 has substantially changed the demosiacing, noise reduction and sharpening–but at this point I couldn't tell you exactly what numbers to use. The one thing to be very careful with with PV 2010 is to be gentle with the Detail slider.
Logged

GarethJolly

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
Photokit Sharpener and Lightroom 3
« Reply #23 on: August 08, 2010, 07:00:33 AM »

Thanks for everyone's help - it's a great starting point.  

However, the more I think about it, the more I think it would be useful for tighter integration and more feature sharing between PS and LR.  So, PS could really do with an improved print menu - including output sharpening and other things which LR offers.  And some of the colour etc adjustments in LR (and RAW) would also be very useful - especially with the ability to use masks.

And, on the flip side, it's incredibly annoying not having soft proofing in LR - especially if you want to tweak for final printing in PS then print in LR.

No doubt the two products will evolve increasingly together - it will be interesting to see the evolution.

Cheers
Gareth
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Up