Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Any Hands On Reviews of the 645D?  (Read 5137 times)

Dave Gurtcheff

Any Hands On Reviews of the 645D?
« on: July 27, 2010, 03:39:35 pm »

I have four manual focus and two auto focus lenses sitting on the shelf waiting. I know the camera is not released in the US yet, although several are on ebay, brand new, in the $10,000 range. I have 50 years experience with medium format FILM cameras (645, 6x6, 6x7, and 6x9); but am a complete novice to MF digital, and from what I have read here, there IS a learning curve, manual lens focus issues, etc. Can someone stear me to an honest to goodness field review by an honest to goodness landscape photographer?
Thanks in advance.....
Dave Gurtcheff
www.modernpictorials.com

GEOFFREYJAMES

« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2010, 01:50:10 pm »

Quote from: Dave Gurtcheff
I have four manual focus and two auto focus lenses sitting on the shelf waiting. I know the camera is not released in the US yet, although several are on ebay, brand new, in the $10,000 range. I have 50 years experience with medium format FILM cameras (645, 6x6, 6x7, and 6x9); but am a complete novice to MF digital, and from what I have read here, there IS a learning curve, manual lens focus issues, etc. Can someone stear me to an honest to goodness field review by an honest to goodness landscape photographer?
Thanks in advance.....
Dave Gurtcheff
www.modernpictorials.com
Sean Reid has given it a pretty thorough going over in Sein Reid Reviews.  You have to subscribe, but this one is worth every penny.   Ken Rockwell dumps on it,  although it isn't clear he has ever had his hands on the camera.   It looks clunky to me -- I would go for the Leica S2,  but it doesn;t come cheap.

eronald

• My gallery on Instagram
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2010, 06:49:31 pm »

Quote from: GEOFFREYJAMES