Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: How to use and why?: Polarizators  (Read 2654 times)

MartinProsperi

How to use and why?: Polarizators
« on: July 24, 2010, 03:27:33 pm »

Hi Community, this is my first post here.

I'm a hobby photographer and I have found that I like doing land/waterscape photography, so I'm constantly traveling, as far as the money allows me to do that, taking pictures and such.

I have bought a set of Cokin filters to a photographer friend and I'm very pleased with these filters, but I'm wondering what about polarizing filters. I googled it but couldn't understand that type of filter. I have seen a couple of examples where the polarizer push down the highlights without affecting the shadows, which would be amazing for the photography I'm doing. Could you please show me some examples or explaining me a little bit about polarizators?

I'm using the Z-Pro Cokin Filters with the holder and such and I have these filters:

Z121M
Z121S
Z121L
Z152
Z154
Z198
Z003

If you want to suggest other filters, please, drop a line.

Because I don't know how many directions has the landscape/waterscape photography has, I'm going to post some images of what I did here, so you may have a better approach to what to suggest or what can be better to improve my photos, etc.

Jonathan Ratzlaff

« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2010, 04:18:34 pm »

Polarizing filters help control reflections in non-metallic objects.  This results in more saturated colours and improved contrast. They also reduce scattered light and as such cut through haze and darken skies, most notably at right angles to the sun.  The effect cannot  be duplicated in photoshop. The best way to see the effect is to look through the filter and rotate it.  Many landscape photographers, myself included use them most of the time.

NikoJorj

• http://nikojorj.free.fr/
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2010, 07:59:51 pm »

My 2c's...
Best use : control of reflections upon water (I like your water photos!) or glass.