Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Need advise please  (Read 1323 times)

keithbanham

Need advise please
« on: July 21, 2010, 05:44:33 pm »

Hi guys,
I am a portrait photographer/digital artist in New Zealand. I have recently created a series of "chalk & charcoal" digital sketches and started looking at printers to print them. I have had a look at the IPF6300 and also the Epson 7900 and tommorrow will look at the HP3200. I am pretty confident they could all do great mono for my art but when I went to Canon (which is where I went first) the guy suggested we look at doing all our prints on the 6300 and forget about the pro lab we currently use. We did some costing and would save good money (from our calculations anyway) BUT the big thing in my mind is the uncertainly of inkjet prints lasting as long a the photo prints we currently use. I know they are better than they were 6 years ago but ...?

We offer 2 main products to our clients albums and wall prints. The albums are basically like an A4 artist portfolio with acid free clear sleeves to slip the A4 prints into. In theory the client never handles the prints and unless viewing are within the closed album. The wall mounted images are cold laminated and then artmounted onto a rigid foam core board 20mm thick.

I guess what I am trying to figure out is a comparable longevity to the photo prints we now use. If everything else is equal in the displayed environment will the injet prints last as long as photo prints? Any ideas what sort of life you could reasonably expect from either? We would print mainly on a satin/lustre photo paper around 250gsm.