Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Canon Focus-Point Selection and Portrait Framing  (Read 5940 times)

solardarkroom.com

• http://www.solardarkroom.com
Canon Focus-Point Selection and Portrait Framing
« on: July 02, 2010, 01:46:11 pm »

Ever since I started shooting headshots I've wondered if my choosing Canon (when I made the leap from CONTAX film boxes) was a mistake. I wonder what others do or if they even have the same frustration. I want to have a focus point on one of my subject's eyes but this rarely allows me much freedom in framing the shot the way I want to. Is there a reason why it's impossible to have focus points somewhere other than a diamond in the center of the frame? How about that old rule of thirds? I just did a portrait session yesterday and everything turned out fine as always but I feel like I'm just not getting used to it. If anyone has some thoughts on this I'd love to hear. At my age the eyes are liking the assistance of autofocus and I swear the viewfinder on my old CONTAX was brighter than even my 5DmkII.

David

Ken Bennett

• http://www.kenbennettphoto.com
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2010, 07:33:47 pm »

Hi, David,

Are you using the thumb button for autofocus activation? If not, you might try this. Having the camera re-focus every time one presses the shutter button is a real PITA, especially as (in your case) the focus point isn't over the subject. With the thumb button, one hits the AF button with the thumb to focus, then release the button and shoot away. You can choose a nearby focus point, or use the center point (if you aren't too close to the subject.) I generally leave the AF on "continuous" all the time.

The 1-D series cameras might be another solution. They have a 45-point AF system in an oval pattern, and the 1.3x crop means the focus pattern takes up a fairly large percentage of the viewfinder. (Note I am not talking about the 1-Ds series.) AF is fast and accurate, and the shooting speed helps with some portrait subjects.