Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: LR Loading Problem  (Read 1587 times)

John R Smith

• Still crazy, after all these years
LR Loading Problem
« on: May 24, 2010, 06:09:17 am »

Friends

I have just spent the last week setting up a new Windows 7 PC for my digital photography. This has involved transferring all my data, installing my software, and setting up my peripherals (printer, screen, external drives etc). I’ve never used Win 7 before, so this has been quite a steep learning curve for me.

The new PC is nothing special (I couldn’t afford much), just a little Acer laptop with 4 GB RAM and a 500 GB drive, but it is a great deal better than the XP one I was using previously. I am running Win 7 64 bit. There are various rather strange problems and issues with this new setup, which are probably the result of my inexperience with Win 7. But the strangest issue which I can’t seem to figure out is as follows –

I installed Lightroom 2.6 and all was well at first. It loaded much faster than on the old PC, and I got all my presets and templates organised OK, and life was good. But suddenly, for no apparent reason whatsoever yesterday, it has behaved really strangely when loading. When I double-click the LR desktop shortcut, the revolving “wait” symbol appears briefly, and then vanishes, and the whole PC just seems to hang for about 15 secs. Then, LR starts loading, but with just a white frame rather than the black background and splash screen, which just doesn’t look right. Eventually, it does load, and everything seems to function normally thereafter. I just can’t think what I might have done to cause this. PS Elements loads fine, and is blisteringly quick compared with the old PC.

If anyone has any ideas, I would be very grateful.

John
Hasselblad 500 C/M, SWC and CFV-39 DB
an

PeterAit

• Peter Aitken Photographs
LR Loading Problem
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2010, 09:06:37 am »

Quote from: John R Smith
Friends