Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Open image into camera raw from CS5  (Read 25009 times)

mdijb

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 450
    • mdiimaging.com
Open image into camera raw from CS5
« on: May 08, 2010, 02:53:54 PM »

I have a 16 bit Tiff file open in CS5.  I want to open it in camera raw to make adjustments.  I learned the file must be flatten, but after that I am stuck..How can I open this file in ACR, save the changes and then get back to photoshop?

MDIJB
Logged
mdiimaging.com

Dan Berg

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1693
    • http://bergscanvasgallery.com http://bergscustomfurniture.com
Open image into camera raw from CS5
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2010, 07:31:41 PM »

With Lightroom its a piece of cake. Since I use Lightroom for just about everything I can open a tiff file in Lightroom right click to edit in photoshop for a little pixel work. When done just click close and save and it goes right back to Lightroom as a tiff for more work in Lightrooms develop module/ACR if you want.
Sorry I know you did not say a thing about Lightroom but they work so nice together.
I am sure someone will chime in with the answer.
« Last Edit: May 08, 2010, 07:44:31 PM by Dan Berg »
Logged

Raw shooter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 205
Open image into camera raw from CS5
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2010, 07:53:24 PM »

Quote from: mdijb
I have a 16 bit Tiff file open in CS5.  I want to open it in camera raw to make adjustments.  I learned the file must be flatten, but after that I am stuck..How can I open this file in ACR, save the changes and then get back to photoshop?

MDIJB

In ACR, after you make your edits, just click the Open Image button.  The 16 bit TIFF, with the new edits, will open in PS5.
You could go through the Save Image button, but that is a wasted effort if you want it open in PS5 anyway.
Logged

Peter McLennan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1935
Open image into camera raw from CS5
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2010, 11:17:45 PM »

Quote from: mdijb
I have a 16 bit Tiff file open in CS5.  I want to open it in camera raw to make adjustments.  I learned the file must be flatten, but after that I am stuck..How can I open this file in ACR, save the changes and then get back to photoshop?

MDIJB

To open a TIFF in Camera Raw, In Bridge/Camera Raw Preferences, temporarily check the box "Always open TIFF files with settings using Camera Raw"
The same applies to JPGs.
« Last Edit: May 08, 2010, 11:18:02 PM by Peter McLennan »
Logged

mcbroomf

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 541
    • http://www.pbase.com/mike_broomfield
Open image into camera raw from CS5
« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2010, 11:25:32 AM »

If you only want to do this occasionally use OPEN AS rather than OPEN to select the file.  Choose your TIF file, then change the OPEN AS format to RAW.
Logged
Mike Broomfield
Website

mdijb

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 450
    • mdiimaging.com
Open image into camera raw from CS5
« Reply #5 on: May 09, 2010, 02:32:31 PM »

If I understand you correctly, I would have to duplicate the file, flatten it. save it, and then open using the "open as smart object" as a raw file.  This did work but when the file was edited and then saved it save as 8bit file, instead of the 16 bit file I started with.  Idid not see a place to keep it a 16 Bit file.

Is this the correct procedure?  Is there a way to retain the 16 bit file?

MDIJB
« Last Edit: May 09, 2010, 02:33:09 PM by mdijb »
Logged
mdiimaging.com

Wolfman

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 191
Open image into camera raw from CS5
« Reply #6 on: May 09, 2010, 02:54:36 PM »

Quote from: mdijb
If I understand you correctly, I would have to duplicate the file, flatten it. save it, and then open using the "open as smart object" as a raw file.  This did work but when the file was edited and then saved it save as 8bit file, instead of the 16 bit file I started with.  Idid not see a place to keep it a 16 Bit file.

Is this the correct procedure?  Is there a way to retain the 16 bit file?

MDIJB


In the Camera Raw window under the image you will see letters in blue where you set your your workflow options... click on the blue letters and make sure you have 16 bit set in those options... you might have it set at 8 bits right now.
Logged

mdijb

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 450
    • mdiimaging.com
Open image into camera raw from CS5
« Reply #7 on: May 10, 2010, 06:47:11 PM »

Quote from: Wolfman
In the Camera Raw window under the image you will see letters in blue where you set your your workflow options... click on the blue letters and make sure you have 16 bit set in those options... you might have it set at 8 bits right now.


Thanks for the info.  Sure wish there were a simpler method of using Camera midstream while fine tuning an image.

MDIJB
Logged
mdiimaging.com

sjprg

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 83
Open image into camera raw from CS5
« Reply #8 on: May 11, 2010, 11:29:20 AM »

Quote from: mdijb
Thanks for the info.  Sure wish there were a simpler method of using Camera midstream while fine tuning an image.

MDIJB

In Bridge look on the top toolbar. There is an iris icon, hover on it and it will say "Open in Raw".
Logged
Paul

AFairley

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1479
Open image into camera raw from CS5
« Reply #9 on: May 12, 2010, 02:27:30 PM »

Quote from: mdijb
Thanks for the info. Sure wish there were a simpler method of using Camera midstream while fine tuning an image.

Well, you really want to start in ACR and open the image as a smart object in Photoshop from there, then you can go back and forth directly between the two as much as you want.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up