Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 5DMII long exp. nr ON OR OFF ?  (Read 3016 times)

markgoble

5DMII long exp. nr ON OR OFF ?
« on: May 07, 2010, 05:26:23 pm »

Hello, im new to digital capture and post process, photoshop ect. Previous work 6x7 and 4x5. My question is should i turn my 5dmII LONG EXP. NR on or off ? I shoot RAW, MANUAL MODE EXP. RANGE IS 1 SEC. TO A FEW MINUTES ( NO NIGHT PHOTOGRAPHY ). I shoot this way 99% of the time. AM I BETTER OFF TURNING IT ON ( OR OFF AND USING CS4 TO WORK ON THE NOISE ? ) THANKS, MARK

PierreVandevenne

• http://www.datarescue.com/life
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2010, 07:12:04 pm »

Quote from: markgoble
Hello, im new to digital capture and post process, photoshop ect. Previous work 6x7 and 4x5. My question is should i turn my 5dmII LONG EXP. NR on or off ? I shoot RAW, MANUAL MODE EXP. RANGE IS 1 SEC. TO A FEW MINUTES ( NO NIGHT PHOTOGRAPHY ). I shoot this way 99% of the time. AM I BETTER OFF TURNING IT ON ( OR OFF AND USING CS4 TO WORK ON THE NOISE ? ) THANKS, MARK

Long Exposure Noise reduction is, at the root, the subtraction of a dark frame (a shot of the same exposure length taken with the shutter closed) from the image frame. It will definitely give better results than simple post processing because the noise observed in long exposure is mostly a fixed pattern.