Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Alpa = just good marketing spin or real advantage?  (Read 7555 times)

PaulSchneider

Alpa = just good marketing spin or real advantage?
« on: May 07, 2010, 05:03:05 pm »

Hi guys!

I have a question for you regarding technical view cameras. I just ordered a Cambo RS System with the new 43 XL because I got a really good deal for everything. In fact, everything considered, an equivalent Alpa system comes in at almost 165 % the price. I tried to get a better deal from Alpa Switzerland, but all I was offered where a measly 7.6. percent reduction. I won't get into the details here, but my dealer gave me substantially more price reduction on the cambo system that's already cheaper by itself. One reason for this is because I'm a student and this helped to get a better price. In the end the decision, if based on a value consideration, was crystal clear in favor of Cambo.

Nonetheless I would like to know if there are really any big differences worth the price differential.

This, because this whole high-end pricing strategy from Alpa begs the question of value to me.

Having said this, I'd be grateful if some of you Cambo and Alpa owners who tried the other system could comment on any tangible differences in terms of image quality. Aesthetics aside, please.

So here's the situation as I perceived it: If marketing speak is to believed, Alpa is superior in all regards to other manufacturer's cameras: their precision construction supposedly uses the highest construction standards possible (Swiss precision engineering, courtesy of Seitz) and supposedly because all movements are contained within the frame of the camera, stitching should be more precise ...