Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Quality of canned profiles for Epson 3880  (Read 3084 times)

MirekElsner

• Mirek's web site
Quality of canned profiles for Epson 3880
« on: April 27, 2010, 02:13:01 am »

I am new to Epson inkjets and I would like to know what quality I should expect from canned profiles vs. custom made profiles by usual profilemakers vs. attempting to make my own with ColorMunki. The canned profiles I am interested in are Epson , Ilford  and Hahnemuhle and printer in question is Epson 3880.

Thanks!

Mark D Segal

• Contributor
    • http://www.markdsegal.com
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2010, 08:35:39 am »

Epson's canned profiles are only for Epson papers. For the 3800, which I use, their profiles are fine. I expect they would have made at least as good profiles for the 3880, but have no first-hand experience with them. The experience I've had with Ilford's own profiles for its Gold Fibre Silk paper, (which I use all the time and love it), is that their profiles for the Epson 3800 are not good, and I've made my own using my XRite Pulse Elite far better. I have not used Hahn papers so can't comment.
Mark D Segal (formerly MarkDS)
Author: "Scanning Workflows with SilverFast 8....."

Alan Goldhammer

• A Goldhammer Photography
« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2010, 09:15:14 am »

Quote from: MirekElsner
I am new to Epson inkjets and I would like to know what quality I should expect from canned profiles vs. custom made profiles by usual profilemakers vs. attempting to make my own with ColorMunki. The canned profiles I am interested in are Epson , Ilford  and Hahnemuhle and printer in question is Epson 3880.

Thanks!